Independent & educational platform Not a government body. No link or affiliation with any government organisation. Made for learning only. Test only systems you own or are authorised to test. Become a Partner or Sponsor → Full disclaimer

CVE-2026-89878

Severity not reported
Data quality: partial. Some fields were not provided by the source.

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: media: s2255: check firmware size before reading trailing marker s2255_probe() reads a 4-…

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: media: s2255: check firmware size before reading trailing marker s2255_probe() reads a 4-byte marker and version from the last 8 bytes of the firmware blob (fw->data[fw_size - 8] and [fw_size - 4]). If the firmware file is shorter than 8 bytes, fw_size - 8 underflows and the access reads out of bounds. Validate the firmware size before indexing.

CVSS
—
Awaiting analysis by NVD
Timeline (UTC)
Published: 2026-09-16 11:16
Modified: 2026-10-19 09:18
NVD status: Received
Last synced 1 day ago
Verified against the source API 2026-10-27 06:54 UTC
Exploitation
Not listed in CISA KEV (as of last catalog sync)
Absence from KEV does not mean a CVE is not exploited. Exploitation status: unknown (no authoritative evidence in our sources).

Affected products

Not reported by the source (unknown — not "none").

Mitigation & advisories

No vendor advisory or patch reference tagged by NVD. Check the references below.

References

Data sources

NVD CVE API 2.0 — fetched 2026-10-27 06:54 UTC · record ↗

Learn the basics

Understanding CVEs and CVSS Scores