Independent & educational platform Not a government body. No link or affiliation with any government organisation. Made for learning only. Test only systems you own or are authorised to test. Become a Partner or Sponsor → Full disclaimer

CVE-2026-98199

Severity not reported
Data quality: partial. Some fields were not provided by the source.

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: hwmon: (pmbus/core) increase number of phases and add new mask Increase the number of pha…

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: hwmon: (pmbus/core) increase number of phases and add new mask Increase the number of phases to 16 as a new upcoming device supports such a number. While at it, add a new mask for controlling the source of the output voltage. Note (groeck): This patch was meant to prepare for support of MAX20826 and compatible devices, which support more than 10 phases per page. However, Sashiko reports that the mp2975 driver already supports up to 14 phases, and the mp2856 driver supports up to 12 phases. This already has the potential for out-of-bounds writes when probing the affected chips, making this patch a bug fix.

CVSS
—
Awaiting analysis by NVD
Timeline (UTC)
Published: 2026-10-06 09:18
Modified: 2026-10-19 10:18
NVD status: Received
Last synced 2 days ago
Verified against the source API 2026-10-27 06:57 UTC
Exploitation
Not listed in CISA KEV (as of last catalog sync)
Absence from KEV does not mean a CVE is not exploited. Exploitation status: unknown (no authoritative evidence in our sources).

Affected products

Not reported by the source (unknown — not "none").

Mitigation & advisories

No vendor advisory or patch reference tagged by NVD. Check the references below.

References

Data sources

NVD CVE API 2.0 — fetched 2026-10-27 06:57 UTC · record ↗

Learn the basics

Understanding CVEs and CVSS Scores